Welcome To Our Department

The HOD’s Welcome Address

Political Science is a social science discipline concerned with the study of the state, government and politics. Aristotle defined it as the study of the state. It deals extensively with the theory and practice of politics, and the analysis of political systems and political behaviour.

The Department houses scholars in different aspects of political science, specialising in areas as diverse as political behaviour, political theory, comparative politics, international relations, governance, public administration, gender studies, conflict, e.t.c. Members of staff in the Department have made, and continue to make, meaningful impact in their teaching, research and community engagements, both within and outside Nigeria.

At the moment, the Department coordinates two undergraduate and three postgraduate degree programmes. These are:

  1. B.Sc. Political Science
  2. B.Sc. Politics, Philosophy and Economics (PPE)
  3. Master in Political Science (MPS)
  4. M.Sc. Political Science (with thesis)
  5. PhD Political Science

For further information on our programmes, including entry requirements, kindly click this link. 


O. A. Bamisaye, PhD
Professor and Head of Department


Departmental News

Department of Political Science welcomes new students, celebrates promotions of Staff

May 29, 2019

The Department of Political Science will continue to redefine itself for the demands…

Department of Political Science to interview applicants for postgraduate programmes on 28th January

December 31, 2018


13 PhDs, 2 First Class feature in Department of Political Science’s Harvest of Graduands at OAU 2018 Convocation Ceremonies

December 11, 2018

It was a harvest of graduands for the Department of Political Science at…

Upcoming Events

No Events Available